Yummy – Hot Fudge Sauce

Hot Fudge SauceI realize I have committed a serious oversight. When I was writing my post about the Dinner for 5 in an Hour (or so), I neglected to include the recipe for Hot Fudge Sauce that I mentioned in the description of our dessert.

I was reminded of this last night, when I watched my husband enjoy a Banana Sundae with the remains of the sauce. After you make this and realize how good it is, you will understand why my omission was so serious…I should not have held this back for so long. I am sorry….

Hot Fudge Sauce
I have tried a lot of recipes for Hot Fudge Sauce, but I can tell you that this one is the best. I found it in an old Bon Apetit magazine, February 2004.

  • 2/3 c. heavy cream
  • 1/2 c. light corn syrup
  • 1/3 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened,  Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 6 oz. good quality dark chocolate, not unsweetened, finely chopped (ok…I used 8 oz)
  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

More Hot Fudge Sauce1) Find yourself a heavy bottom sauce pan that is large enough to hold all the ingredients.

2) Bring cream, corn syrup, brown sugar, cocoa, salt and half of the chocolate to a very gentle boil, over medium heat. Stir (making sure to be getting the bottom of the pot) until all of the chocolate is melted.

3) Reduce the heat to low and cook for about 5 more minutes, making sure to be diligent on the stirring front.

4) Remove from heat, add the butter, vanilla and remaining chocolate. Stir until the sauce is smooth.

5) Allow the sauce to cool a bit and serve with everything, and I mean everything.

Leave a Reply

