Brown Sugar Banana Bread

One of my least favourite smells is that of over-ripe bananas. I suspect that I am not the only person that has a deep aversion to it, as someone, long ago, caught a whiff of their the fruit bowl and decided that instead of throwing out the offending fruit, they would beat it to a pulp and turn it into a delicious treat (and thanks be to them).

I found myself with a few stinkers last night and decided to use them up. When I went to my pantry to gather the ingredients to make my Aunt Dee’s famous recipe, I discovered that the holiday baking season had left it in a state that Old Mother Hubbard could relate to. No white sugar, no butter and barely enough all purpose flour (did I mention that Aunt Dee was not the most health conscious baker I’ve ever met). It was time to improvise. I substituted whole wheat flour for some of the all purpose and turned to brown sugar instead of white. Vegetable oil replaced the melted butter. I also fiddled a bit with the baking powder/soda ratios to see if I could get a lighter loaf. I also added cinnamon, just because I like it.

Overall, very pleasing results. The bread had the perfect consistency and texture. Moist and a bit crumby and the brown sugar on the top was the perfect finishing touch. I would also recommend popping a slice in the toaster for a few minutes for a breakfast treat.

Brown Sugar Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  • 1 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 over ripe bananas, mashed up beyond recognition
  • 2 eggs, room temp
  • 1/3 c canola oil
  • 1/2 c brown sugar + some for sprinkling on top of loaf
  • 2 tsp vanilla

1) Sift the flours, baking powder/soda, salt and cinnamon together in a large bowl.

2) In a smaller bowl, whisk your eggs well. Add the sugar, oil, vanilla and bananas. Give this a mixture a good stir.

3) Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Stir around but avoid over-mixing, which will produce a loaf with a consistency  and heft equivalent to a brick.

4) Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and sprinkle the top with a bit of brown sugar, which will become delightfully crunchy with a deep caramel flavour as it bakes.

5) Pop it in your oven and bake for 40-45 minutes. The loaf is done when the a cake tester comes out reasonably clean. I like mine a bit soft in the middle.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Banana Bread

  1. Perfect. My pantry is in the same state at the moment after our attempted Eyore gingerbread house and way too many batches of waffles. That plus one very opinionated 1.5 yr old’s constant refusal of breakfast is inspiration to try this out this week!

Leave a Reply

