Strawberry Cake – Hold the Cow (aka Dairy Free)

This post has as much to do with my family tree as it does food. You may need a flow chart to follow along…

I have a sister. She is a very, very, very lovely sister. She has a boyfriend. He is also lovely. Recently, he discovered that he is allergic to dairy. Not so lovely :(

Have I mentioned I also have two lovely cousins? It’s true. These two cousins also have lovely parents who were in town to help their children (the cousins) prepare for their upcoming adventure to Thailand. I wanted to make a cake to celebrate their visit but also wanted aforementioned boyfriend to be able to enjoy it. So I fired up the internet to see if there was such a thing as a dairy-free cake (I know, I know…I am new to this whole alternative diet thing).

I came across this recipe on the WholeFoods Market website. You can find the original here. I tweaked it slightly to compensate for the sad state of my pantry. The result; a very moist and flavourful cake. It was also a very pretty shade of pink if that matters.

Dairy Free Strawberry Cake

Dairy-Free Strawberry Cake

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 c. coconut milk
  • 1/2 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 c. pureed strawberries – can use frozen but at this time of year, why would you?

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 2 X 9″ cake pans in your preferred manner. Thankfully I remembered not to use butter at the last moment. I used a dairy-free margarine but you could also use coconut oil.

2) Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

3) Measure out the 1/2 c. of oil into a large 4 cup measuring cup. Then top up with the 1/2 c of coconut milk. Add the pureed strawberries until you hit the 2 cup line. Whisk in the eggs. There, you have saved yourself from dirtying at least one additional bowl. Aren’t you clever?

3) Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well with a whisk.

4) Pour half the batter into each pan and bake for approximately 22 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool completely on rack.

Strawberries

Dairy-Free Strawberry Frosting
(NOTE: I doubled the measurements from the WholeFoods website)

  • 8 Tbsp dairy-free margarine, reasonably soft
  • 1 c. icing sugar
  • 4 Tbsp strawberry puree (I did not double this amount)

1) With a mixer on medium, add the icing sugar to the softened margarine. Your icing should be quite stiff at this point. If it too soft, add more icing sugar.

2) Mix in the strawberry puree a spoonful at a time to ensure that your icing doesn’t become too runny.

To assemble the cake, I opted for the layered approach. One layer of cake, one generous layer of icing, one layer of strawberry puree. Next; another layer of cake, another layer of icing and finish off with some sliced strawberries, artfully arranged on top (I assure you that you will be have better results with the “artful” step – presentation is definitely not my strong suit).

I also suggest that you keep this cake refrigerated until just before serving as the icing tends to soften quite quickly.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Strawberry Cake – Hold the Cow (aka Dairy Free)

Leave a Reply

