Honey Oat Bread

I am not one for a big list of New Year’s resolutions. Frankly, the only change I am capable of making after a week and a half of too much food and too much wine is my socks. Assuming I can still see my toes when I bend over, that is.

Instead, I like to reserve a bit of time at the end of the year imagining what a successful new year will look like. My vision of 2014 included, among other things, bread. Made by me. All by myself.

Tah dah!

HoneyOatBread_1

This recipe is a perfect introduction to the world of yeast and flour. It is easy, quick, and delivers ridiculously delicious results.

Honey Oat Bread
Originally published by Bon Apetit

  • 1 3/4 c. water
  • 1 Tbsp active yeast
  • 3/4 c. quick cooking rolled oats
  • 1/3 c. honey
  • 3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 to 5 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • sprinkle of rolled oats

1) Add 1/4 c. very warm water to a large bowl. Sprinkle the yeast over top, give a stir and allow to sit for about 10 minutes.

2) Stir in the remainder of the water (1 1/2 c.), the honey, oil, salt, and oats. Give it all a good stir.

3) Now, add the flour cup by cup until you have formed a shaggy dough. The original recipe calls for 5 cups but I have never needed more than 4 1/2. Give it all a gentle knead until you have a soft dough. A light touch is good here.

4) Take a large bowl and coat it with a bit of vegetable oil. Place the dough in the bowl; cover with plastic wrap and then a towel. Put the bowl in a draft-free place and allow to rise for at least an hour.

5) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and coat two loaf pans with vegetable oil.

6) Punch down the dough and separate into two equal pieces. Place in loaf pans, cover with plastic wrap and towel and allow to rise for another 20 minutes or so.

7) Brush the top of the loaves with the beaten egg and sprinkle some rolled oats on top. I like to top with a small bit of fleur de sel too.

8) Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, enjoying the smell that is filling your house as the clock counts down.

9) Cool and enjoy!

One thought on “Honey Oat Bread

  1. I just started getting into baking with yeast before the new year, and I can honestly say that I am hooked! Homemade bread has always been on my “to try” list, so thanks for sharing this simple recipe. It looks and sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

